• Honorary Plenary Lecture
  • Home > Program > Honorary Plenary Lecture


- Date/Time: July 1(Sun.), 2018, 16:00-18:00
- Place: #205(2F), BEXCO
Lecture 1. Prof. Alan J. Heeger (Univ. of California, Santa Barbara, USA)
  • Prof. Alan J. Heeger

    Univ. of California, Santa Barbara, USA

    Born Sioux City Iowa, 1936
    Graduated from High School, 1953
    Undergraduate degree from University of Nebraska, 1957
    PhD UC Berkeley, 1961
    Married, 1957
    Assistant Professor University of Pennsylvania, 1962
    Full Professor Univseity of Pennsylvania, 1966
    Buckley Prise (American Physicaal Sosiety), 1982
    Nobel Prize, 2000
    Honorary Degrees from Universities all over the world throughout my csrreer

Lecture 2. Prof. Richard Kaner (Univ. of California, Los Angeles, USA)
                    : In Honor of Prof. Alan G. MacDiarmid
  • Prof. Richard B. Kaner

    Univ. of California, Los Angeles, USA

    Richard Kaner received a Ph.D. from the University of Pennsylvania in 1984 working with Prof.
    Alan MacDiarmid (Nobel Laureate 2000, deceased). After postdoctoral research at Berkeley, he joined the Univerisity of California, Los Angeles (UCLA) in 1987, earned tenure in 1991, became a Distinguished Professor in 2012 and was appointed to the Dr. Myung Ki Hong Endowed Chair in Materials Innovation in 2017. He has published over 375 papers in top peer reviewed journals and holds 29 U.S. patents. According to the 2014, 2015 and 2016 Thomson-Reuters rankings, he is among the world’s most highly cited authors. Professor Kaner has received awards from the Dreyfus, Fulbright, Guggenheim, Packard and Sloan Foundations along with the Materials Research Society Medal, the Royal Society of Chemistry Centenary Prize, and the American Chemical Society’s Buck-Whitney Research Award, Tolman Medal and Award in the Chemistry of Materials for his work on refractory materials including new synthetic routes to ceramics, intercalation compounds, superhard metals, graphene and conducting polymers. He has been elected a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), the American Chemical Society (ACS), the Materials Research Society (MRS) and the Royal Society of Chemistry (FRSC).

Lecture 3. Prof. Yung Woo Park (Seoul Nat’l Univ., Korea)
                    : In Honor of Prof. Hideki Shirakawa
  • Prof. Yung Woo Park

    Seoul Nat'l Univ., Korea

    Prof. Yung Woo Park is currently a Principal Investigator of the Institute of Applied Physics, Seoul National University. He also holds a dual appointment as an Adjunct Professor at the Department of Physics and Astronomy, University of Pennsylvania, USA. He received his Ph.D. degree at the University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, USA in 1980. From 1980 to 2017, he was a Professor in the Department of Physics and Astronomy, Seoul National University and has become an Emeritus Professor of the Seoul National University since 2017. He is a fellow of the American Physical Society and a Foreign Member of the Göteborg Royal Academy of Science and Arts, Sweden. His research interest includes Synthesis and Transport of Conducting Polymers, Carbon Nanotubes, Graphene & 2D Materials, Organic Crystals and Highly Correlated Materials

Lecture 4. Prof. Ruth Astrid Olivia Gräslund (Stockholm Univ., Sweden)
  • "The Amyloid Beta Peptide in Alzheimer´s Disease: Molecular Interactions and Structure Conversions Studied by Biophysical Methods"

    Prof. Ruth Astrid Olivia Gräslund

    Stockholm University, Sweden

    Major Activities

    • High School graduation at Högre Allmänna Läroverket in Härnösand, April 21, 1963
    • Master of Science in Engineering (Applied Physics) at the Royal Institute of Technology, Stockholm, October 30, 1967
    • Doctor of Philosophy (Biophysics) at Stockholm University, November 29, 1974
    • Research assistant at Dept. of Biophysics, Stockholm University, 1967 - 1976.
    • Assistant/associate professor at Dept. of Biophysics, Stockholm University, 1977 - 1988.
    • Professor of Medical Biophysics, University of Umeå, 1988 - 1993.
    • Professor of Biophysics, Stockholm University, since 1993. Formally retired 2012, at present partly reemployed (20%) as Professor of Biophysics (working full time).
    Honors or Awards
    • The 1982 Lindbom Prize, awarded by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences.
    • The 1995 Arrhenius Plaque, awarded by the Swedish Chemical Society.
    • The 2007 Björkén prize, awarded by Uppsala University.
    • Elected Member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, Class of Chemistry, since 1993.
    • Elected Fellow of the International Society of Magnetic Resonance, since 2009.
    • Elected Fellow 2018 of the American Biophysical Society.

Lecture 5. Dr. Misoon Mah (Air Force Office of Scientific Research (AFOSR), USA)
  • "AFOSR International Initiatives"

    Dr. Misoon Mah

    Air Force Office of Scientific Research (AFOSR), USA


    • Ph.D., Electrical Engineering / University of Cincinnati, Cincinnati, OH
    • M.S., Mechanical Engineering / University of Utah
    • B.S.EE, Electrical Engineering / University of Dayton
    • B.S. Chemistry / Sogang Jesuit College, Seoul, Korea
    • B.S. Chemistry
    Work Experience
    • Air Force Office of Scientific (AFOSR) Nov 2017-Present, International Program Officer
    • Secretary AF Science & Technology Management Division (AQRT) Sep – Oct 2017, Program Manger
    • Asian Office of Aerospace Research and Development (AOARD) May 2012 –Sep 2017, Tokyo, Japan, Chief
    • Air Force Office of Scientific Research (AFOSR) Jun 2008- April 2012, Arlington, VA Program Manager
    • Asian Office of Aerospace Research and Development (AOARD) Tokyo, Japan, Feb 2003 - May 2008, Program Manager
    • AFRL Sensors Directorate 1983-2003, WPAFB, Dayton, OH, Electronics Engineer
    Areas of Expertise
    • Responsible for developing programs in basic, fundamental science in the US and internationally; Nove
    • Nano Magnetic Materials, Microwave Electronics Materials, RF and optical devices.
    Professional/Scientific / Honorary Affiliations
    • Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Senior Member and SPIE fellow 2015
    • Exemplary Civilian Service (Department of the Air Force) in 2017
    • Certificate of Recognition from the IEEE/SEM (South East Michigan) Section in 2001